One down, one to boldy go…


I’m going to a Star Trek convention in October. I am ridiculously excited. I bought a costume on the internet, but it bugged me that it wasn’t close enough to the ‘correct’ ones from the original TV series… so I decided to do it properly and bought a pattern, ordered fabric and insignia etc. to make my own. It was surprisingly fiddly, as it’s made out of triangular shaped pieces and has the wide pleat/wraparound bit to deal with also…

This is the first of two dresses I’m making – this just finished in the gold colour with appropriate command patch – the other’s going to be a replica of Uhura’s dress (basically the same as this but in red – and with lieutenant’s braid on the cuffs and a communications/security insignia patch). I should mention I ADDED FOUR INCHES to the bottom of this dress and, after hemming it, am mightily pleased I did so…

Oh, I also made this awesome bag that looks like a tricorder too.

2 responses to “One down, one to boldy go…

Leave a Reply

